Back to Help

User management

Manage your users with four different user roles, allowing you to grant different permissions to different user types.

User Roles

Read-only

Can access all screens except Live Chat and conversation history and cannot modify anything. This role is good for those interested in your bot's analytics/data but not actively working on the bot.

Agent

A live chat agent. Can access Live Chat Inbox and Archive screens only.

Can accept any live chat candidate, and can view and send messages to their own chats (ie not to chats accepted by other agents).

Publisher

Can access all screens except User Management.  

Can make changes to any features except user management, including configuration settings, knowledge base and engagements.

Typically, a publisher is involved in the day-to-day monitoring and management of the bot.

Admin

Can access all screens.

All of the permissions that a Publisher role has, plus access to user management. Can create new users, delete users, change users' roles, change passwords.

Managing users

FAQ Bots with an Admin role can manage users.

User management is accessed via the Configuration menu in the portal

FAQbot user management menu

From this screen, admins can:

1. add new users

Add new FAQbot user

2. Change users details (including name, email address, role and password).

Edit FAQbot user

3. Unlock a locked account. Accounts are locked after 5 incorrect attempts to enter a password.

Unlock FAQbot user

Note

Currently, Admin users will not be able to see or change their own details on the user management screen. To change their password, they should go to their Profile. If you get locked out of an Admin account, you will need to contact us to unlock it.

Reset admin user password